


 Who is Employer
 Private or Public
 # of Employees Who Work for 

Employer
 How Long Has Employee Worked for 

Employer
 What is the Issue
 How much is Employee Paid



 ACRA (sexual harassment) – 1 employee
 Title VII and ADA – 15 employees
 ADEA – 20 employees
 FMLA – private employer - 50 employees



 Discrimination – 180 days/300 days
 FMLA – 2 years
 FLSA Violation – 2 years/3 years intentional
 Retaliation/Whistleblowing
 Wrongful Termination
 Claim against the State based on state 

law, 180 days –notice of claim



Title VII– AZ Civil Rights 
Act

 Race
 Color
 Religion
 Genetic Information
 National Origin
 Sex -- also Equal Pay 

Act, Pregnancy, 
Sexual Harassment

 Sexual Orientation

ADEA
 Age -- 40+

Rehab. Act / ADA
 Disability -- physical / 

mental impairment that 
substantially limits a 
major life activity; a 
record of such 
impairment or is 
regarded / perceived as 
having such impairment
Also known association 



 Hiring -- recruiting, 
screening, 
selecting

 Assigning --
overtime, special 
projects

 Promoting
 Transferring
 Evaluating

 Training -- technical 
programs, classes

 Compensating --
benefits, pensions, 
vacations

 Disciplining
 Terminating --

layoff, recall



Arizona Civil Rights Act

 File charge within 
180 days

 File complaint 
within one year of 
filing charge of 
discrimination

Title VII, ADAA, ADEA
 File charge within 300 

days of last act of 
discrimination

 No need to exhaust 
remedies Rehab. Act 
(disability) and RACE

 Section 1981 (race 
discrimination) 



MSPB

An employee can file a 
mixed case -
discrimination in 
connection with an 
action otherwise 
appealable to the 
Board.

EEO - EEOC

Within 45 days of the 
discriminatory action, 
employee must contact 
the Agency’s EEO office 
and file a complaint.  The 
Agency will investigate 
and employee will be 
given options, including 
electing a  Hearing 
before an EEOC Judge.



Federal employees may file an appeal with 
the MSPB within 30 days of the following 
adverse actions:
 Removals (terminations);
 Suspensions of more than 14 days;
 Demotions; and
 Other matters such as appeals of OPM 

determinations in retirement matters, 
among others.



 Written K – prohibiting firing 
 State law that prohibits such firing: 

ACRA; filing safety complaint
 Firing in retaliation for:

› (i) Refusing to violate the Arizona Constitution or 
laws of Arizona,

(ii) Telling ER that EE  believes ER violated or will 
violate AZ Constitution/AZ laws 

(iii) Using Arizona’s workers' compensation 
program.



 (iv) Serving on a jury

 (v) Voting in elections.

 (vi) Not joining a union.

 (vii) Serving in the national guard or armed forces.

 (viii) Refusing to pay fees or gratuities as a condition of 
employment.

 (ix) Refusing to purchase goods or supplies from any 
particular person as a condition of employment.

 (x) Using leave if the employee is a victim of a juvenile 
offense a victim of a crime.



AMWA

As of January 1, 2021, the 
minimum wage in Arizona is 
$12.25/hr.

AZ minimum wage 
increases every January 1 
by an amount equal to the 
percentage increase of the 
Consumer Price Index.

FLSA

Since July  24, 2009, the 
minimum wage under the 
FLSA is $7.25/hr. 

Because the minimum 
wage under the AMWA is 
more generous, it takes 
precedence over the FLSA



 The AMWA covers all employers in the 
private and public sectors except small 
businesses, the State of Arizona, and the 
federal government. The AMWA protects 
all employees of a covered employer 
except for a person who is employed by a 
parent or a sibling, or a person who is 
employed to perform babysitting services 
in the employer’s home on a casual basis.

 A small business is defined as any entity 
that has less than $500,000 in gross annual 
revenue and is exempt from having to 
pay a minimum wage under the FLSA.   
This definition can cause some confusion 
because the FLSA does not contain any 
exclusion for small businesses.  Rather, it 
asserts jurisdiction based on a defined 
impact upon interstate commerce.   The 
AMWA does not require any ties to 
interstate commerce.

 The FLSA applies to employees based on 
their work activities as well as to 
employees of enterprises engaged in 
interstate commerce. Employees are 
covered if they engage in commerce or 
produce goods for commerce or if they 
work for an enterprise engaged in those 
activities. As a practical matter, the law 
covers almost all employees and 
employers in both the private and public 
sectors.

 An enterprise is engaged in commerce if it 
meets one of the following tests: (1) it has 
two or more employees engaged in 
commerce or has employees engaged in 
handling, selling, or otherwise working on 
goods that have been moved in or been 
produced for commerce, and it is a 
business whose annual gross sales are not 
less than $500,000; (2) it is a hospital, old-
age home, or school; or (3) it is a public 
agency.



 Employees who work in excess of 40 
hours in any 7-day work week must 
receive compensation at a rate not less 
than one and one-half times the regular 
rate.  

 Holidays, sick time, and vacation not 
included when counting 40 hours.

 Exempt vs non-exempt
 Exemptions for certain industries



AMWA
 AMWA prohibits employers 

from retaliating against any 
person who asserts a claim or 
right under the law, who assists 
any other person in doing so, 
or who informs any person 
about his or her rights. 

 Presumption of retaliation if ER 
takes adverse action within 90 
days after a claim.  The 
presumption may be rebutted 
by clear and convincing 
evidence that the action was 
taken for permissible reasons. 

FLSA

 Prohibits discharging or 
discriminating against 
because of filing complaint , 
instituting a proceeding 
and/or engaging in other 
protected activity. Employee 
may be entitled to equitable 
relief, including reinstatement, 
as well as damages.

 Protected activity includes 
filing an internal complaint. In 
a retaliation case, the 
employee’s remedy is one of 
damages, both compensatory 
and punitive.



No verbal or written 
agreement or employment 
contract may waive any rights 
under the AMWA or the FLSA.



 Employees earn one hour of 
paid sick time for every 30 hours 
worked. Employees are entitled to at 
least 24 hours of paid sick time if the 
employer has 14 or fewer employees. 
The amount increases to 40 hours of 
paid sick time for employers with 15 or 
more employees.

 No retaliation



 Birth or Placement 
of Child  

 Serious Health 
Condition --
Employee’s or 
immediate family 
member’s 
(spouse, child or 
parent)

 Military family 
leave



 Worked for a covered employer 
 Employed for at least twelve months in 

any capacity (full time, part time, 
temporary) 

 Worked 1250 hours in preceding 12 
month period

 Worked at a location where at least 
50 employees are employed by ER 
within 75 miles 



 Inpatient Care or
 Continuing 

treatment by a 
health care 
provider =  
absence of at 
least 3 
consecutive days 
and treated at 
least twice 
*Chronic 
condition



The ADA prohibits discrimination and guarantees that 
people with disabilities have the same opportunities as 
everyone else, such as to enjoy employment opportunities, 
to purchase goods and services, and to participate in 
State and local government programs and services. 

Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 prohibits 
private employers, state and local governments, 
employment agencies and labor unions from 
discriminating against qualified individuals with disabilities 
in job application procedures, hiring, firing, advancement, 
compensation, job training, and other terms, conditions, 
and privileges of employment. 



ADA

 Employers must 
have 15 or more 
employees;

 Need to exhaust 
remedies

Rehabilitation Act

 Applies to federal 
government and 
private employers 
that receive 
federal funds.

 No need to 
exhaust remedies.



 Has a physical or mental impairment that 
substantially limits one or more major life 
activities;

 Has a history or record of such an 
impairment; or

 Is regarded by others as having such an 
impairment. 

 The ADA does not specifically name all 
of the impairments that are covered. 



A qualified employee or applicant with a disability is an individual 
who, with or without reasonable accommodation, can perform the 
essential functions of the job in question. 

Reasonable accommodation may include, but is not limited to:

•Making existing facilities used by employees readily accessible to 
and usable by persons with disabilities.

•Job restructuring, modifying work schedules, reassignment to a 
vacant position;

•Acquiring or modifying equipment or devices, adjusting or 
modifying examinations, training materials, or policies, and 
providing qualified readers or interpreters.



 An employer does not have to provide a 
reasonable accommodation if it imposes 
an "undue hardship." 

 Undue hardship is defined as an action 
requiring significant difficulty or expense 
when considered in light of factors such 
as an employer's size, financial resources, 
and the nature and structure of its 
operation.



QUESTIONS?

THANK YOU!


